Dussehra fervor touches sky as Jeypore erupts in celebrations

The burning effigy of Ravan
Jeypore October 7: Jeypore town erupted in celebrations and the festive spirit touched the sky on the eve of Dussehra and Ramleela.
Villagers carrying Lathis
Lathis of Village Deities 
Devotees worshiping Lathis
Worshiping Lathis
Tens of thousands of people had participated in the celebrations. Whole town was decorated with colorful lights and people of Jeypore erupted with joy as fire crackers shooting up the sky and bursting into a magnificent shower of colorful stars. Streets were jam packed with devotees and visitors form all over the district. This year Jeypore chamber of commerce organised Ramleela at Dasara Podia, made it a point to mesmerize Jeypore people, staging extravagant Dussehra celebrations on Thursday.
District Collector Mr.Sachin Ramchandra Yadav setting Ravan on fire
Collector addressing the celebrations
(Sitting on stage Jeypore MLA Mr. Rabi Narayan Nanda (3rd from L)
and Tahisildar Jeypore Mr.Maheswar Nayak (2nd from L)
Khatiya Dance a Adivasi Folk dance from Kotpad
Odissi dance performance
Odissi dance performance
MLA Mr.Rabi Narayan Nanda, Tahisildar Jeypore Mr.Maheswar Nayak
Colorful lighting in Dussehra
Colorful effigy of  Ravana was set on fire by Chief Guest, The District Collector of Koraput, Mr.Sachin Ramachnadra Yadav. Thousands gathered at Dasara podia to watch "Ravan Dahan" on the occasion of Dussehra on Thursday. People of Jeypore enthralled with the performances of Adivasi folk and Odissi dancers. "Lathis" which represents the village deities from 80 villages were brought to Jeypore to participate in the celebrations. The colorful blast of firecrackers in the night sky of Jeypore stole the show during "Ravan Dahan".
"Lathis" are being brought by villagers
Collector felicitating the village deity poojaris
Adivasi people in Dussehra
Jeypore MLA and others
Devotees offering pooja to Lathis (Village Deities)
People at Dasara Podia, Jeypore
The celebrations were attended by the Member of Legislative Assembly Jeypore, Mr. Rabi Narayan Nanda, Sub Collector Mr Ajay Kumar Mallik, Tahisildar Mr Maheswar Nayak, Jeypore Chamber of Commerce President, Mr.Rajpal Khurana, General Secretary Mr.B.Prabhakar Rao and Directors of the chamber of  commerce Jeypore.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...